outdrive (lower unit) compatibility question

adamjr

Petty Officer 1st Class
I apologise if this has been asked and answered. I did a search but I must be using the wrong terms.

I am interested in purchasing an older boat. It's a '72 20' Thompson with a 165 mercruiser. The current owner tells me that the lower unit has an issue but wasn't specific about what the issue was and I didn't ask because I am still in the spousal negotiation stage of the purchase.

I am new to I/O's as I have only owned outboards. If I am understanding correctly the upper unit of the outdrive is where the gear ratio comes into play. If I am correct in that understanding are the lower units compatible provided they are from the correct year? On a website I was looking at for stern drives the drive from this boat is compatible with other 165's from 1970 through I think 1978. Would the lower unit be compatible from other sterndrives of different horsepower and greater number of cylinder engines from the same year range?

Sorry if this question is just stupid. My consideration was to get a lower unit and just do a swap so I could get it out to water test it and then to rebuild the drive and swap it out over the winter so I have a rebuiilt drive readu to go for next season before I get out on Lake Michigan for some salmon fishing.

Last edited:

achris

More fish than mountain goat
Re: outdrive (lower unit) compatibility question