150HP Force outboard - no spark at the plugs

CGraziano

Cadet
I have a 150 HP Force outboard (1992, model 1508) and I think I have some kill switch issues. At first I was getting nothing at all when turning the key. I bypassed the 2 yellow wires going into the switch, and now the starter turns but I have no spark at the plugs. I searched thru some of the older posts and I see a lot of reference to disconnect the "Black and yellow" wires. I am not very familiar with this type of engine (I'm new to outboards in general - I've only had this boat a short time and this is the first issue I have encountered), if anyone could provide a good description or even a photo of where to find these wires I would really appreciate it.

I'm not sure what would have tripped the kill switch, but I'm having a heck of a time trying to correct it!

Thanks,
Carmine

bentle

Chief Petty Officer
Re: 150HP Force outboard - no spark at the plugs

Either on the shifter itself or by the key switch there is a saftey kill switch. Check and make sure it is in the run position. This kills the motor in the event you were to get thrown from the boat. You didn't say if the motor was running before hand, and now you have problems or if it has never run at all. Also check around the motor for any loose, broken wires, or bad grounds. May be a faulty ignition key switch to. One more thing, check the flat fuse just above your coils if you have one in that location. If you do and its blown then that indicates a short and will need to be located and fixed.

CGraziano

Cadet

Bentle,