So I bought a boat that was partially sunk...

wojtek9321

Cadet
I've been trolling these forums for a couple weeks now and first off I would like to thank everyone for their wonderful contributions. I am going to start a little project thread that people that are interested can follow.

Because of this forum I have gotten over a number of hurdles and hope my posts encourage someone else to do as I did even though it seems way too hard for them.

I'm an amateur mechanic that's comfortable doing automobile work such as minor work all the way up head gaskets and transmission swaps but have no formal training just following manuals or writeups.

Boats were like black magic to me but I wanted one.

So I purchased a 2002 Bayliner 2455. It has a 5.7L Carbed Mercruiser with a Bravo 3 drive. Sunfaded seats, dash,steering wheel but in good shape and cleaned up really well. Hull was buffed with fiberglass oxidation remover from mequiers and shines now too. It's a total transformation visually at least hehe.

The previous owner was a car dealer that purchased the boat in 2006 as a repo and it sat after he sunk it. He said he docked it on a lake and after coming back a day or whatever later the boat was sunk halfway. Turns out there accessories that were removed and the hole was never plugged into the engine bay.

So I prepared myself for a full replacement of motor and electrical issues.