Gelcoat repair questions / options

tstewart1

Seaman Apprentice
Hello,

I have a 2004 Larson Cabrio that has some chips / gouges in the gelcoat. I have some experience using gelcoat pastes (like spectrum) but these chips/gouges are a little deeper than I am use to. Would you suggest first filling with an epoxy or filler (brand recommendations?) then gelcoating with a paste (don't really want to spray if I don't have to). Any help hints would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Tim

Attachments

• 524295083215-1024.jpg
    524295083215-1024.jpg
    35.8 KB · Views: 0
  • 709275083215-1024.jpg
    709275083215-1024.jpg
    21.7 KB · Views: 0
  • 713785083215-1024.jpg
    713785083215-1024.jpg
    51 KB · Views: 0
  • 939985083215-1024.jpg
    939985083215-1024.jpg
    31 KB · Views: 0

oops!

Supreme Mariner
Re: Gelcoat repair questions / options

if you fill with epoxy....using gellcoat is out, as it wont bond.......but those are just basic gellcoat repairs.....no big deal at all.....scuff the area with 80 grit.....clean with acetone....add gellcoat with brush.....let cure...fair and polish

tstewart1

Seaman Apprentice

Thanks, glad it's just gel coat that I have to deal with.

Tim

if you fill with epoxy....using gellcoat is out, as it wont bond.......but those are just basic gellcoat repairs.....no big deal at all.....scuff the area with 80 grit.....clean with acetone....add gellcoat with brush.....let cure...fair and polish

Yacht Dr.

Vice Admiral

Welcome to Iboats Tst.. :)

Yea.. on those bigger chunks you might want to put some GRp ( Glass Reinforced putty ).

The smaller ones you can do the gel patch paste. .. but all of them should be sprayed as they are below the waterline.

Preval sprayer is easy to use and the sanding and buffing spray is even easier then faring out the putty to a polishable grit. At least your repair is encapsulated with gel when spraying.

YD.

BWT

Petty Officer 1st Class