new guy... just want to introduce myself/ say hello

cwlson

Petty Officer 3rd Class
I am very excited as this is my first boat. about a month ago I came across a 1965 MFG 16' with a 1962 johnson 28 hp outboard and trailer on craigslist. I picked it all up for $300.00. the motor fired right up and the boat is in pretty good condition considering the price. the boat really only needs a good cleaning and some new seats and it will be more than suffice for what I need.

I'm a complete noob when it comes to boats so fortunately my cousin knows a good amount and has been very helpful (he is also a member here f16dcc431). I have been lurking around the site now reading tons of info I figured it was about time to introduce myself.

so back to the boat. last week I traded my 1962 28 hp johnson for a 1973 65hp johnson we mounted the motor but have not taken it out yet hopefully we will get it out tomorrow or wed.

does anyone have a video of their runabout in the water with a 65hp motor I'm curious as to how is going to move the boat in the water.

enough with all the yacking here are some pictures of my "new" toy

IMG_20110906_144138.jpg

290120_10150428817150760_570155759_10924509_719224204_o.jpg

290389_10150432850290760_570155759_10949088_2062217280_o.jpg

mr 88

Commander
Re: new guy... just want to introduce myself/ say hello

Congrats,nice looking ride. The 65 will push it to around 35 with a light load.A tach and RPM rating will be a big help as to getting it propped correctly. Any idea what the motor came off of?

62 ROYAL SCOTT

Petty Officer 1st Class

WELCOME Nice boat ,There' s nothing like a boat that has some histrory to it HAPPY BOATING:)-------DON'T FORGET TO PUT THE PLUG IN

Last edited:

Mark_VTfisherman

Lieutenant

Welcome! And congrats on the purchase.

MFGs: I just love both their lines (for a 'glass boat!) and their construction: Strong and light.