evinrude 9.5 hp sportwin yr and model unknown wont stay on

yamar6racer

Cadet
110911_004.jpg110919_001.jpg110919_002.jpg110911_003.jpgHello i picked up an evinrude no Serieal plate so the model and yr are up for grabs. But if i had to guess ad say 68 seen a few with the same color scheame as mine and it looks like a 68. I have cleaned the carbs and rebuilt it. Changed and checked the fuel lines. New gas with a 50:1 fuel mixture 87 octane. inspected the spark plugs and cleaned them. Look at the electronics under fly wheel and cleaned contacts. Not sure how to set the points but its all clean. The motor will start but at low idle it has a miss. if i cover the carb intake about half with finger the miss goes away but if i hold the throttle full open it will rev up for about 5-10 secs and then die. Any suggestion? i am new to outboards but have read some of the threads but know im kinda stumped. i order the rebuilt kit for the fuel pump and will be doint this next. I did remove it and blew air into the fuel intake port air did flow this way but i hear a slight air leak coming from somewhere else than the carb hose port. When i blow into the carb out port nothing no air or leaks sonds which is as it should be. Really could you some advice.

Attachments

• P9160086.jpg
    P9160086.jpg
    108.6 KB · Views: 0

nwcove

Admiral
Re: evinrude 9.5 hp sportwin yr and model unknown wont stay on

top secret file at the start of this forum. pics might help narrow down what you have.

yamar6racer

Cadet

here are some pics after i painted it.

nwcove

Admiral

nice paint job, but have a look on the side of the motor maybe, welch plug on the cyl wall.

yamar6racer

Cadet