Need some advice

lakefan06

Recruit
I am thinking about buying a tahoe boat, I have not decide if I want a new one or a slightly used boat maybe like a 08 and up. I really like the q7, I would wakeboard/kneeboard more than anything. This will be my first boat but I have been around boats. I see a lot of mixed reviews on the tahoe boats but seems mostly good from people that have them. I just dont want to have to work on it every weekend before I go to the lake, I am a mechanic by profession so I know how to work on things. But just dont want to deal with a lot of problems. Just want to know what kind of common problems I might have to deal with also is new better than slightly used. Any advice would be great. The only local dealers I have are for tahoe and crownline, I have a local small tahoe dealer (not BPS) that is great to deal with. I think crownline is out of my price range so I am leaning toward tahoe for money and convience reasons. Thanks in advance for the replys.

RandyJ

Master Chief Petty Officer
Re: Need some advice

Generally, for me, used means less loss due to depreciation. Outside of that I know nothing about those boats... too rich for my pocket book. I've got 15 boats and only one of them did I pay over $1,000 for. Yep, I work on them VERY frequently....

Mordekai

Petty Officer 2nd Class

I bought new BUT if I was to do it all over again, I'd buy slightly used, pay a local dealer to do a once over or get a surveyor.

As for Tahoe's fit and finish. You do pay for what you get for. Being a price point boat, slightly less shine and bling are installed but it will still get you on the water.

For me, I had to glue a few pieces of trim back up and tightened a few screws but no biggie.

jack_pine

Seaman Apprentice

New/used addressed above.