What's the best way to identify leaks?

Swell

Petty Officer 3rd Class
I have a Hypalon inflatable boat from the 80?s, so it?s getting on a bit, but the Hypalon is generally in good shape. I?ve fixed a couple of obvious leaks but both tubes are still losing air, albeit very slowly. I?m struggling to identify where from though, and I suspect it might be seams.

What are the most likely areas for leaks?

Is there an easier way to identify leaks other than by listening for air escaping, which is what I?ve been able to do so far?

It?s a Metzeler Juca by the way.

fbpooler

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: What's the best way to identify leaks?

Spray with soapy water and look for bubbles.

CapeAnn

Petty Officer 2nd Class

Spray with soapy water and look for bubbles.

+ 1. I've also found slow leaks from the valves and areas subject to micro punctures from small stones etc.

jameshunt

Seaman Apprentice

I am relatively new to inflatables. I have aleady had two instances of tiny leaks. First time in the bottom, 2nd time about 8 inches up from the bottom to tube seam (Chamber 3). The first probably occured dragging it across the patio, I think there may have been a very small screw or something that cut a 1/4 inch tear, barely noticeable until tested with soapy water. The second was harder to locate, but I saw what looked like a sandy crust. I think it was a wood splinter from the dock and trying to force air out after deflation by walking on it with my knees. It was only when I brushed away the "brown crust" I felt the air from a pin prick size hole. Patience is key, allow the thing to deflate on its own giving it ample time before rolling or folding up. Your "package" may seem too big at first, but you will be surprized that by the time you get home, most of the air will have some how found its way out. First thing on my shopping list will be a roll of pvc "Tear Aid" Type "B" I think. I only partially inflate the floor now since putting in a plywood deck.

Attachments