1991 200 Merc 2.5L Carb - Overheat at mid-range

schmutzie4

Recruit
I have been fighting this issue for 4 years with limited success.

If cruising pre-plane, and anywhere up to 3000rpm on plane, will overheat in 1-2 minutes. I can idle all day long, run 3500-4000-5000 rpm all day long without issue (can run harder all the way to the gas station, LOL). As soon as I try to take my little girl tubing at 25mph, BEEEEEEEEEEEEPPPP.

I believe I'm propped well, running 21" standard 3 blade, getting almost exactly 1mph per every 100rpm, tops out at 57mph at 5400ish rpm.

I've replaced impellor, t-stats, have checked that pickup tube fits securely into housing grommet, screens are clean, cavity in divider plate and below is clean, replaced poppet assembly last year (this actually helped a lot, but did not solve the issue). No visible cracks in housing. Gaskets are new with the impellor.

Have read quite a few threads indicating possible blockages below the power head. Is this my next step? Seems logical if it is...there's nothing left to replace!

No...I don't have a pressure gauge on cooling system...sorry. But heat gauge is calibrated correctly, motor runs mid-gauge at 4000rpm, no issue. As soon as revs drop below 3000, even while still on plane, temp creeps up and eventually will prompt alarm when gauge tops out. Idling brings temp back down to mid-gauge.

I bought this damn thing cause I've wanted a Black Max since I was a kid and our cottage neighbour put a 1983 225 Black Max on his 17ft family runabout...I loved hearing that thing roar past us.

Help me restore the faith. I have a buddy who's a former Merc tech who's willing to help...he already did a big job on it when I had to replace the steering pivot assembly when I first bought it. He's scratching his head too.

Cheers,

Brian

Chris1956

Supreme Mariner
Re: 1991 200 Merc 2.5L Carb - Overheat at mid-range