3 blown exhaust gaskets

swampy2646

Seaman
I have a 2010 350 mag. mpi, repowered last year and have blown 3 exhaust manifold gaskets (both sides) in the last two seasons. Any mercruiser professionals come across this problem??? I've been boating for 40 years and only changed gaskets when i replaced manifolds every 7-10 years!

1977 SILVERLINE

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: 3 blown exhaust gaskets

Run a straight edge across the manifilds and check if they are warped or twisted. You can probably get away with .oo5" but any more than that you will need to get the manifolds re-surfaced at a machine shop

Volphin

Lieutenant

Are the manifolds new with the engine? Are they iron or aluminum?

V

Volphin

Lieutenant

I have always retightened the exhaust manifold bolts after the first few hours of operation on new engines. If that's not it, perhaps the bolts are loosening up over time? Some red locktight might help if that is the case.

Another thing to consider is maybe cheapo gaskets are at work here. See if there are some nice thick ones available.

V

John_S

Rear Admiral

New engine and new manifolds does not mean there are "good". The fact remains, you blew 3 gaskets, so something is wrong. What type of exhaust are you running and what exhaust gasket are you using?

Volphin

Lieutenant

New engine and new manifolds does not mean there are "good". The fact remains, you blew 3 gaskets, so something is wrong. What type of exhaust are you running and what exhaust gasket are you using?

VERY true.

V

Bondo

Staff member

Ayuh,.... Amen to that bro,...
And I'll add, Have the gasket mating surfaces been Cleaned to shiney metal each time the gaskets are changed,..??

1977 SILVERLINE

Petty Officer 2nd Class

swampy2646 it sounds like you already know what your problem is so why are you asking us for help?

EddiePetty

Lieutenant Junior Grade

Correct me if I am in error but I can think of only five things that would cause repeated exhaust gasket failures: