Sears Gamefisher 3.0 (Tanaka TOB-300) Will not start whatever I try.

trock79

Cadet
My dad gave me his Sears Gamefisher 3.0 motor about 3 years ago, since then it sat in my garage and had not been used. Before I got it he said it sat for about 5 years since he last used it. I tried to start it and it would not work. I then proceeded to replace/check the following;

• fuel (50:1 mix)
  • fuel lines
  • cleaned out the deposits canister
  • removed and checked the carb which was very clean inside
  • replaced carb seals
  • replaced spark plug set to .025

From what I can tell I get good compression, I get a spark when I remove the spark plug and pull start. I have tried spraying starting fluid in the carb when trying to start it. I sometimes get some back fire but not enough to stick. I am stumped. Has anyone had this much trouble with an air cooled motor? I grew up ripping apart lawn mower engines, so I understand the concept of the combustible engine although I am not a mechanic. In fact I did have one of my mechanic friends come look at it and he left after 2 minutes (he usually stays for hours). I know I am getting spark and fuel, what else could I be missing?

M

mrcrabs

Re: Sears Gamefisher 3.0 (Tanaka TOB-300) Will not start whatever I try.

you say your getting spark....but how much, I would get a spark tester and just make for sure your getting a bright blue flame...

62 ROYAL SCOTT

Petty Officer 1st Class

HEY trock79, This might sound far out there ,BUT TRY TAKING THE PLUG AGAIN AND HEAT UP THE PLUG [gap end] with a LIGHTER Get it real hot and put it back in as fast as you can .Then try to start it.--GOOD LUCK--

Last edited:

Dexta

Seaman

Does it have points? Might want to check the point gap.

trock79

Cadet