A Little Transom modifing

Jamie 10017

Seaman
I have a Wellcraft Gran Sport that I want to make a walk thur transom. Im a newbie to the forums and would like some input on the best way to box in the opening .
The boat Is a V drive and the transom is hollow where I want to cut a put the door. Im not getting any younger and climbing over it is getting to be a pain Thanks in advance Jamie

produceguy

Lieutenant Junior Grade
Re: A Little Transom modifing

Can you post some pics so we know exactly the area your talking about?

Jamie 10017

Seaman

This is what I want to do. This is a picture of a later model Gran Sport boat 001.jpg 3238305_20110713065709_2_LARGE.jpg This is what I have. The transom on this boat is 12'6" wide , Thanks Jamie

Last edited:

produceguy

Lieutenant Junior Grade

That looks like a job for the pros. Can you get an estimate from a shop, if the price isn't to bad go for it and it will be and look like a pro did it but if you just want to do this yourself I'm sure you can.
Pics of the inner transom would help also.

OOPS and Yacht Doc should be able to walk you throu it along with the other members on here. Do you have any carpentre skills, Have you done any glassing, Have You ever gell coated anything? These are all skills you will need to have or learn.

Welcome to iboats Jamie

Jamie 10017

Seaman

Yes I have done some glass work and some wood working before also, I will post some more pictures of the inside under the transom, Thanks

oops!

Supreme Mariner

hi jamie....welcome to iboats....

we need to see whats under there and your current interior configuration. this will requier a lot of fabbing...but anything can be done.