Help with tuning my 1455 roughneck

Hi

I am really new to boating and would like some help if possible.

I have a Lowe 1455 roughneck powered by a 25hp mercury seapro. It has a 20 inch transom and the motor has a 22 inch shaft. I have 2X 27amp batteries at the back of the transom. One is for my trolling motor and the other one is for my light, bilge pump, fish finder and back up trolling motor power. I myself weigh 235lbs. I usually go out with an extra person adding another 190lbs sitting about in the middle of the boat. I went out today and the water was like a piece of glass and I was getting a speed of 22MPH WOT. Motor was trimmed to the 3rd hole. I found its teh best for getting up on plane. I have a aerofoil on the motor and I get up on plane fairly quickly but would like to get more top end and better fuel efficiency. The prop on it is a 9.9 dia with a 11 pitch. I have been reading up on the jack plates but I would like to know if raising my motor 2 inchs will help that much? I hate to drill holes in the transom for nothing. Also, do I have the right prop? I don't know what RPM its running at as I have a no gauges. If I am alone in the boat I get about 25-26MPH. I have spent allot of time reading other post but would like to hear suggestions for my setup.

thanks!

just_crsn

Seaman Apprentice
Re: Help with tuning my 1455 roughneck

Those are good numbers for both . Not sure you will get any better out of a 25hp. Your boat is fairly heavy ad its a 14fter, which will take a little more to plane out compared to 16ft. I would not spend to much money.....you will not gain much on the top end...maybe 2mph. I have a 25 hp on a 16ft lowe rivited and get ( by myself) 29 mph with a boat half your weight.

lncoop

Vice Admiral