Removal of carbon in exhaust

Dustinfish

Seaman Apprentice
I am thinking I have a large about of carbon build up in my engine causing exhaust back pressure making the engine bog down at lower RPM. My question what is the best way to go about this? It is a 2003 4 stoke engine. Should I get a small gas tank and run a large amount of cleaner throught it? Or is there a way to spray some type of foam? Thanks

Last edited:

AlTn

Commander
Re: Removal of carbon in exhaust

seafoam comes in an aerosol spray now..O'Reilly's carries it..probably most auto parts places do...you can also run seafoam in your gas to help keep it clear once you treat it

Dustinfish

Seaman Apprentice

seafoam comes in an aerosol spray now..O'Reilly's carries it..probably most auto parts places do...you can also run seafoam in your gas to help keep it clear once you treat it

This may sound like a newbie question but where is the best place to spray it?

adamh1281

Seaman Apprentice

I'm no expert, but how much carbon build up could be causing back exhaust pressure enough to cause issues? and the next question is, if there is that much build up, could an additive really remove it? Sounds like there may be another problem.

AlTn

Commander

directly into the carb throat....the can will have instructions

Dustinfish

Seaman Apprentice

The boat will not run once you put water over the exhaust coming out of the prop. Before, once you take the press off the prop but running it on a water hose it runs fine. It is getting worse. Now its having a hard time running on just the hose like before.

Dustinfish

Seaman Apprentice

I just don't know what else can cause that much back pressure. And over time it is getting worse and worse. I know that the last owner ran it off ethanol and thought that if he put some stuff with it the engine would be fine, which it is not.

cdn-pk

Petty Officer 2nd Class