1980 Marquis Caribbean with cracked stringer, what do?

seanzy13

Recruit
To make a long story short I have no background on this boat other then it was abandoned at a storage unit and unclaimed, now it is mine. From the looks on the condition, the last owner was starting to prepare the engine for removal to repair a broken stringer (The wood wrapped in glass that the engine is sitting on, I believe this is called the stringer) One stringer looks and sounds to be in good condition, it sounds solid and looks perfectly square. The other side however sounds to have some rot in it, the side looks like its collapsing under the engine weight, and the rear engine/outdrive mount has broken thru the fibreglass and the engine is sitting about 1/2" low on one side. This is a fiberglass hull boat btw.

Now the questions I have:
1) Do I ABSOLUTELY have to fix this? I'm not looking for a perfect boat, or one thats going to last me a life time. This is a cheap do it yourself project that I expect to hopefully get one full season of boating out of and I will be happy.

2) Is there a "red neck" way of fixing this without completely gutting the boat and laying new stringers. It looks like an awful amount of work, and this boat is likely not at all worth it. To me it looks like it cracked because too much engine weight is sitting in a small area. I was thinking perhaps a metal plate under both the front and rear engine mounts on that side would support the engine weight better on the weak stringer, and perhaps get me a season of use or more out of the boat without a full repair.