165 Mercruiser, Spark, Fuel, Timed but will not start

albtross

Cadet
Hey guys,

I've been a lurker here for a few months now. I'm a very experienced mechanic on motorcycles, small engines, cars, and have been an aircraft mechanic for 23 years but this engine has me stumped!

Here is the quick background info;

-165 Mercruiser with a cracked bloc under the manifold
-Manifold was also cracked
-Bought 250 GM truck motor with 77 000kms but not run in 3 yrs
-did a swap of all marine stuff
-pulled the head, checked cylinders, valves reassembled new gaskets.
-installed the motor with-out a snag at all
-New battery, turns over great.
-Has good spark in all cylinders
-set up timeing staticly
-rechecked the valve lash
-compression may be a little low because it hasn't run in a while but I oiled the cylinders well to help

Damn thing will not fire up even when I use Ether. It has backfired once or twice but never even tried to start.

It just does not make sense!

Does anyone have any suggestions that I might not have tried!

Patiently waiting for the genius who tells me that one simple trick and make me look like a fool! :)

oldsub86

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: 165 Mercruiser, Spark, Fuel, Timed but will not start

It is a simple engine.
If it has spark and fuel, it may be an issue of timing.
Do you have the distributor in correctly?

Randy

Bondo

Staff member

It is a simple engine.
If it has spark and fuel, it may be an issue of timing.
Do you have the distributor in correctly?

Randy

Ayuh,... That's My guess,... Yer off on the distributer by a tooth or More...

Volphin

Lieutenant

Yepper. Dist is off.

V

stonyloam

Vice Admiral

Damn thing will not fire up even when I use Ether. It has backfired once or twice but never even tried to start.

If it is backfiring I would look to the timing. Sounds like it is way retarded. Mark the #1 cyl on the side of the distributor, bring it to TDC compression, remove cap, is rotor pointed exactly at the mark?

Fishermark