1962 Johnson 40HP "So I paid my mechanic to "TIME" my outboard???

doberacker

Seaman Apprentice
So obviously I'm not a pro as I would'nt be asking this, but I knew I had to replace my coils, points, and plugs. And my work did fine but then my dirt from my hands gave me "weak spark" so I took it to a mechanic and they said they had to "TIME IT". How do you "TIME" an outboard that has points and coils (magneto system)? Is there some way other than gapping points to "time" it??? I don't get what I paid 150 bucks for?? D.

Exotic4x4

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: 1962 Johnson 40HP "So I paid my mechanic to "TIME" my outboard???

Spark advance when you increase throttle ur motor needs more advance.your motor adjusts the timing by itself but at wot (wide open throttle) my boat should be at 17 degrees Advanced

doberacker

Seaman Apprentice

So they got the motor running great, starts great, runs great, but the last 1/2" of my throttle (full throttle) makes the engine just BOG down to almost nothing? They said "just don't go full throttle"? Couldn't they have adjusted it to be able to let the adjustment be in the throttle advance and not me having to be careful of my throttle???

doberacker

Seaman Apprentice

I'm happy with how it runs, I just don't understand "what I paid for"? If the engine adjusts itself, then what did "they" do? To the throttle advance? D.

Sander

Petty Officer 2nd Class

They said "just don't go full throttle"?

That is the worst mechanic excuse I have ever heard. Take it back to them and tell them to time it proper.

doberacker

Seaman Apprentice