What type and length of boat do i need for deep sea fishing on south west florida?

KAIZEN_USA

Cadet
Hi gents i love fishing , i've been fishing since i was 4 years old now i live in west central florida and me and my buddies thinking of deep sea fishing , i recently bought a 1968 Glassmaster title says it is 16 feet however i measured it was 18 feet and i recently bought fresh rebuilt 1993 c85 yamaha 2 stroke outboard and i have 5hp tiller as kicker , i can surely fish in the bay however i'm after some nice gruuppiess or snappies .. i need a general idea from you guys to tell me is my boat good enough for 8 to 40 miles deep sea fishing? if not what is your reccomandation? what is the minimum lenght and what type of boat should i deep sea fish? thanks in advance.

Texasmark

Supreme Mariner
Re: What type and length of boat do i need for deep sea fishing on south west florid

Been down there to visit relatives in Sugar Loaf Key.....been offshore to the East and 26' was hidden by the waves and "puke everywhere".

Fished West in the shallow flats and bays and a 15' with a 50 hp and Bimini top was all that was required. Plus we caught more fish and better fish West of the islands. Grouper in particiular. I doubt that you would find any Snapper there. They would be to the East if there at all...dunno. We didn't catch doodle-de-squat East.

Mark

jigngrub

Fleet Admiral
Re: What type and length of boat do i need for deep sea fishing on south west florid

You should be ok in a 36' Hatteras.

V153

Lieutenant Commander

This question sounds suspiciously like the "should there be a plug in the threaded hole in the hull below the motor" question ...

You wanna go 40 miles out in a 43yr old 16-18ft boat? That's your business. File a float plan & make sure your life insurance is paid up.

I wouldn't go that far out in anything less than a 30 footer.

KAIZEN_USA

Cadet