How to test coil and condenser on 1967 Johnson 80hp

BonairII

Commander
I finally ordered a service manual for my motor, but it won't arrive til Monday or Tuesday. I'd like to get some testing done on my coil and condenser in the meantime.

Going to pick up an auto-ranging multi meter tomorrow (shame on me for not having one already)

I'm an electrical noob, so bear with me. Do I check resistance(ohms) to see if they are good? What values should I be looking for in the condenser and coil. Where do I touch the probes on each part?

boobie

Supreme Mariner
Re: How to test coil and condenser on 1967 Johnson 80hp

Hate to tell you this but you can check with an ohmmeter to make sure the components are within the specs in the manual but the true test is having a coil/condenser tester to load them for high voltage leaks and ect. Most " Old Time " shops have them.

BonairII

Commander

That figures. I don't think I have any "old time" shops anywhere near me. I might as well order a new condenser just to be on the safe side.

I've got 2 coils (one is from my parts motor), so hopefully one or both are good.

yorab

Ensign

Coils can go bad--it happened to me. Luckily, I had a spare from a parts motor as well.

BonairII

Commander

I'm trying to troubleshoot a possible ignition problem. Would like to be able to test the coil, condenser, points to try and isolate(or rule them out) as a source of the problem.

1980SeaNymph

Cadet

For a quick check on the points-

Use a 12v test light, hook the ground side to the points lead (disconnect it first) and touch the other end to a power source. Remove the plugs and slowly rotate the flywheel (clockwise). The test light should go on and off as the points open and close. This is not a perfect test, but it will quickly tell you if they are working at all.

Quick coil test-