My Chrysler died while running.. Help!

zopperman

Lieutenant Commander
I have limited OB knowledge so please bear with me. My 707hd died while running at close to WOT. I noticed the trim lock was up like for trailering so I figured it was flooded. So I waited... Then killed my battery trying to start again. No idea why it wouldn't start. I cleaned points last season... New wires and fuel lines and CDI ignition... It's burning fuel, I can smell it and bulb stays hard. The flywheel seems to jerk back after cranking it and make a sort of jerking stop noise that I think is new... Any help is really appreciated. I just finished my restoration and I go back to school next Thursday and would really like to have just one day on the water :mad:

Edit: did a spark test.. no spark on any cyl... IGN is getting power because I can hear th high pitched EEEEE noise... the points wouldn't just go bad all of a sudden, would they? :confused:

Last edited:

bentle

Chief Petty Officer
Re: My Chrysler died while running.. Help!

sure points can go bad at anytime . What did you mean about trim lock for trailering and
noticed it was flooding. Any more detail's would be helpful.

Nordin

Commander

Some more information please. No spark, but the CD box makes the noise?. To what CD box did you replace last year? "New" used one or a new from CDI electronics? Sounds like a bad ign.coil or CD box (if you put a used one on). Check the ign.wire from disterbuter to the coil and the points or the preamp if you have the electronic disterbuter.

fucawi

Banned

what motor ??? We dont have a clue !!!! KISS always check the simple things first ...the contacts ..

zopperman

Lieutenant Commander

Well, it was a brand new cd box and it makes this high pitched noise when it's getting power... Which it was doing.. It's a 71 707hd 70 horse... Do you means just check the wire from cd to dist. Is getting 12 v?

zopperman

Lieutenant Commander