Buying a 1994 Scarab sprint with a 3.0 needsome advice..

Ziggy4

Seaman
I found a 1994 18.5ft scarab sprint speed boat with a 3.0 motor. The boat seems to be in good shape and the motor according to the owner runs good. I will be checking this boat out tomorow and going for a test ride. Does anyone know anything about this boat? Anything I should look for? I was wondering if this boat would be good to island hope and if it will take some waves ok. Would anyone recommend this boat as a good small boat? The guy isselling it for $2995 because hes moving out of state. Does that look like a good price?

Im kinda new to boating the last boat I had I owned for a year and rode it twice. It pretty much sat around broken all the time and sold it broken.:mad:

Im trying to not make the same mistake.

Thnaks to all that help

NSBCraig

Lieutenant Commander
Re: Buying a 1994 Scarab sprint with a 3.0 needsome advice..

Cool boat they use them in stunt shows.

Your looking for the usual things as on any used boat.

gtochris

Senior Chief Petty Officer

I looked at one once (very beat/ mis-represented) so I walked away. I had a ride in another and made a few observations:

Cockpit is VERY far back, no ability to really have any passengers in the bow (like a bowrider), and even with just 2 of us of average weight, it took FOREVER to plane out.

4 passenger capacity and no sun-bed.

Extremely rough ride! MUCH harder then even my stingray!

Of course, if the condition is good and the price is right It would probably make a good first boat as it is easy to menuver/ easy on the eyes. Just Dont take it into rough water!

cr2k

Captain

Check oil level on the water BEFORE and AFTER sea trial. Take a flashlight and check everything underway. Listen for bad noises.

ezmobee

Supreme Mariner

The combination of the words Scarab + Sprint + Speed and then 3.0 makes me sad. :( :p

Solittle

Fleet Admiral