1988 85hp Scored Cylinder

HowlinGale

Cadet
Hi Guys, I'm new to posting on the Forum but have been reading lots of posts/threads and got some really good information. Can someone advise me on a scored cylinder.

I had starting problems - seemed that one cylinder wasn't firing. Investigated - testing electrical components and then compression. Maybe should have done this the other way round, anyway #2 cylinder compression was way down on #1 & #3. I removed the head and there was no problem with the gasket but I've found some scoring in #2 cylinder. To me they don't seem to be too deep and there are only two areas affected but I don't have the experience to be sure.

Questions:
Are they light enough to hone out?
How deep a score can be treated before having to re-bore?
Will I need new rings once the cylinder is honed? (I know I'll need them if re-bored)

I'm not a mechanic but am handy enough to carry out most jobs on the engine, it's just I don't have any experience in this area and don't want to dive in making a fundemental mistake on the way. From other posts I learned that I can access the piston through the manifold and have now removed the carbs and reed valve assembly. I can now see the piston and can access the securing bolts. Before I disconnect is there anything I should be aware of? Any tricks or techniques? I don't want to disconnect and find difficulty due to lack of knowledge. I've got the Force service manual and don't see a problem from looking at the diagrams, other than perhaps relocating the bearing cages when it comes to re-assembly. Any tips or is it straight forward?

I've attached a couple of pics of the cylinder and add more if any more detail is required. Looking at the last picture (pic d) the score marks are at 12 o'clock and between 3 & 4 o'clock.

Any advice/comment would be most welcome. Thanks.No.2 cylinder b.jpgNo 2 cylinder a.jpgNo 2 cylinder c.jpgNo 2 cylinder d.jpg

bentle

Chief Petty Officer
Re: 1988 85hp Scored Cylinder