Volvo Penta 270 Drive Engagement/Throttle cables question

cpcharb

Cadet
Okay, so some/most may consider this a ridiculous question, but I am new to boating, and this forum, and have a problem with my drive engaging.... IT WONT. It throttles up in neutral... 1982 Bayliner Capri.... When I try throttling it while not pulling out for neutral, it bogs, and then if I push the throttle far enough to hit the actual throttle cable, it revs... probably too much, but regardless... it doesn't even make a noise to engage. I looked at the throttle lever assembly, and it appears that there should be another cable that is not there. I'm not sure, so that's why I'm asking, but are there supposed to be 2 or 3 cables for the throttle lever? My guess is that there needs to be one to engage the outdrive separate from the 2 throttle cables, one for fwd, one for reverse??? Either way, fwd, or reverse, the drive does not engage.

Can someone enlighten me... then if my suspicions are right, where the heck does the drive cable attach to? Is there any diagrams that someone can help me out with?

I have attached a pic of the outdrive and engine to see if anyone can help.

Thanks,

Chris
IMG_0339[1].jpgIMG_0338[1].jpg

Don S

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
Re: Volvo Penta 270 Drive Engagement/Throttle cables question

There are 2 cables, one for the throttle, one for shifting.
It may be that your control is stuck in the throttle only position.
I would suggest you go to the link below, and download a free owners manual for your engine model. It will explain how to use the shifter if it's the OEM shifter. You could even post a picture of it.

http://www.volvopenta.com/volvopent...lication_search/pages/publication_search.aspx

cpcharb

Cadet