Whats this tube attached to the head of my Mercury 140 blueband

woodsyfeller

Petty Officer 2nd Class
I was given "free" boat and engine a few years back and I am in the process of putting everything together now that I have the "title" issues worked out.Im pretty new to marine 2 stroke mechanics.Anyways on to my ?? there is a fitting placed on the head between the 3rd and 4th cylinder with a small piece of rubber tubing attached.I was wondering if that was for something special ,like vacum/water/oil guages of some sort. I was thinking it may be some sort of crankcase breather but that doesnt seem to make sense on a 2 stroke since the fuel/oil passes through the crank on the way to the piston.The engine is supposed to be 1980 140hp inline 6. I'm adding a pic to help show what I'm refering to.

PIC_3365.jpgPIC_3367.JPG

Thanks ahead of time for any info.

cr2k

Captain
Re: Whats this tube attached to the head of my Mercury 140 blueband

Probably a fitting for a water pressure gauge. Is it blocked off or open?

woodsyfeller

Petty Officer 2nd Class

It is opened. It looks like it was cut off.If it is for a water pressure guage does it need to be hooked up to run the engine?Obviously it would need to be capped or blocked off first.

Gomer50

Chief Petty Officer

Doesnt need to be hooked up.Just block it off.

Chris1956

Supreme Mariner

You do have a separate fitting for the telltale? If not, hook it to the telltale, as you will want that piece of mind.

Chris1956

Supreme Mariner

Sorry, fat fingers. That is peace of mind.

woodsyfeller

Petty Officer 2nd Class

I'm not sure what you mean by telltale. Im guessing its running it outside the unit so you always see water spraying showing impeller is working, forgive me I'm a newb to lots of terminolgy.

Last edited:

relocyo

Chief Petty Officer