I'm new to this sea foam formula..

fishkilla22

Cadet
I have always had mercury outboards and always ran marvel mystery oil in the 50:1 mix. Haven't had any issues but am considering the sea foam. Which one has a better reputation for added protection and lube for a gas/oil mixture.

j_martin

Admiral
Re: I'm new to this sea foam formula..

Either one improves performance by lightening your wallet.

Good fresh fuel, good oil, properly mixed can't be beat.

Sea foam, in a concentration that's hard on neighbors, is good for decarboning. See the FAQ section.

Silvertip

Supreme Mariner

MMO is a lubricant. You already have lubricant that is either injected or pre-mixed with the fuel. It is not a fuel system treatment. SeaFoam is not a lubricant but rather a fuel system treatment and a great decarb agent for two stroke engines. MMO and SeaFoam are used for totally different purposes. MMO by the way, came on the scene many years ago as an upper cylinder lubricant for FOUR STROKE engines. It was poured into a container under the hood and sucked into the intake manifold via an adjustable needle valve so you could just trickle the stuff in or if the skeeters were bad that summer, open the needle valve and smoke ;em out.

1nebel0

Chief Petty Officer

Martin is correct...got turned into the homeowners association for too much Sea Foaming..I do it to all of my cars and all of my boats..Do not do it with car or outboard facing garage door..You will be dealing with the wife on top of the board...My neighbors want to call the air resouce board on me..Welcome to California!

j_martin

Admiral

Maybe we should have a thread, "Bad things happen when SeaFoam ......."

Gomer50

Chief Petty Officer