Slow boat 65HP Johnson 15ft Starcraft Capri

Farns6015

Cadet
I have been tinkering with this boat for a couple of years now and have not been able to get anything more than about 7mph. Because of this, I hardly use the boat. I was told by someone who tested the motor that the compression is good on all 3 cyl but that only 2 carbs out of 3 were getting fuel. So I rebuilt all 3 carbs and now all 3 are getting plenty of fuel.

The motor fires right up and idles fine. I do not have a tach set up and do not know how to set one up on the motor. For the life of me I can not find the book i bought for the motor to see if it will show me how to hook up the tach.

Reason for mentioning the tach is because after reading a few posts I believe it is important to know your rpms at fullthrottle and the speed to figure out the difference in pitch needed to bring up speed also with regards to the length of the boat.

The current propeller is a 13.75 x 15. Michigan Wheel p/n 011002

I think I should move to a 13 x 19 M/W- 011004, but I am not 100% sure and do not want to spend the money to find out I am wrong.

can anyone help me figure this out, PLEASE!

the motor is an Evinrude-Johnson 65hp 3cyl pleasure (outboard) 1972-1973
15ft tri-hull starcraft capri

normally holding 2 adults and 1-2 kids approx 450-500lbs

p.s. if you hold onto the prop and pull?push in and out on shaft there is minimal movement, is this normal or terribly bad?

Farns6015

Cadet
Re: Slow boat 65HP Johnson 15ft Starcraft Capri

Ok, so have gotten a response on another section of the forum stating that the hub could be spun. so I tried to spin it and could not get it to budge. The motor will go full throttle but no speed. I also made a call to a local ship wreck marine and the guy told me that he would run the exact same size prop that I have on it now. So I am back to square one.

Also I was wondering why I have 30+ views but no responses? can anyone help me out?