Carburetor Problem Force 85

FAQdaWorld

Cadet
Hey Folks

1987 Force 85hp Outboard

Problem : Fuel leak from the carb bowl area.

I have a fuel leak coming from what a manual describes to me as a 'jet' on the carb, but I believe its actually a venturi ( I could be wrong, I'm new to carbs! Maybe they are the same or I'm using the wrong terminology)

Here is a pic with circled in red where the leak iscarbwtfrak.JPG

I believe what is going on is that the float is stuck and the carb bowl is flooding with fuel thus spewing out gas anywhere it can. If this is the case can it be fixed without removing the entire carb assembly or can it be done on the engine (please god).

In the very likely situation that I'm totally off the wall wrong in whats going on, WHAT IS GOING on? and how to fix it please?

First to answer gets a theoretical cookie

Thanks,
-FAQ/Ryan

TwoFish

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: Carburetor Problem Force 85

Hi Ryan

I?ve just answered another question similar so I just cut and pasted it here.

?It?s probably the needle and seat in the carby not sealing with the extra pressure from the new fuel pump. There may have been some rubbish dislodged from the rebuilding of the fuel pump that is stopping the needle and seat from sealing. To prevent this it is a good idea to have an inline fuel filter between the fuel pump and the carby. The seat may be worn and need replacing. You could try removing the bowl from the carby and the fuel line to the carby and giving the hole where the seat is a blast of compressed air. You could also try using a cotton bud soaked in carby cleaner to clean the seat.

I have attached a photo of what to look for with a worn needle. They are cheap to replace. If you replace the needle you will need to check the float level in the carby. ?