1997 Mercruiser 5.7 Thunderbolt V Ignition cuts out for a split second while cruising

h2o 4 play

Recruit
Newbie here, but I have been reading this Forum for quite some time and have found it very usefull and interesting.

Almost every time I head out on the water (engine is fully warmed up) once I rach cruising speed 2500 - 3500 rpm, the motor will cut out for a split second, I can feel it and see it on the tach. It only does this once per trip) I have checked all the connections and grounds thinking I would find a loose wire, but everything looks good. The engine runs fine, idles and accelerates great.

Has anyone had this issue before?

The ICM was replaced sometime by a previous owner, it now has 861253-1. It seems all TB V ICM have same Denso # 131800-7071

1997 Mercruiser 5.7, 2 bbl carb, TB V Ignition (no knock sensor) so I believe it to be 210 HP
1998 Baja Islander 180 (18 ft Bowrider)

Cheers

Peter

Don S

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
Re: 1997 Mercruiser 5.7 Thunderbolt V Ignition cuts out for a split second while crui

What outdrive do you have?

Before you start throwing a bunch of expensive parts at it, you do realize simple things like a faulty ignition switch, or kill switch, could cause your problem.
The reason I asked about the drive, is the plunger style shift interrupt switches on Alpha drives have been know to cause all kinds of intermittent running problems.

h2o 4 play

Recruit
Re: 1997 Mercruiser 5.7 Thunderbolt V Ignition cuts out for a split second while crui

Thanks Don for the quick reply,

It is an Alpha One, I think it is a Gen II (I replaced the impeller last season and I seem to remember it was a Gen II)

John_S

Rear Admiral

I agree that it would be a long shot that the icm was acting in that unique way.