Engine Repalcement

Hustler04

Cadet
Hi I am new to the boating world, I have recently acquired a 1988 Dixie Hustler, that i have totally restored the interior, Motor was running but during start up the blocked cracked. I have a 140 HP Mercrusier I/O, i have possibly found another running engine, but i have no idea how to change the engine. This is a project for me and im really enjoying learning as i go. Does anyone know of anywhere that i can find videos (you-tube...etc..) or diagrams that would assit me in this process.

Thanks for any help,

Hustler04

Hustler04

Cadet
Re: Engine Repalcement

Thanks been trying to find the manuals everywhere. Problem has been that all the manuals that i have found have been for the 1992-2006 models and i have a 1988 maodel.

littlebookworm

Chief Petty Officer

Go to www.4shared.com. You'll find manuals for Mercruiser engine and drives as free downloads. Pulling the engine is not that complicated. It's actually easier than pulling a car engine. Put the shift in Forward. Remove the drive: 6 nuts and two rams. Disconnect all the main cables and unplug the harness. Shoot photos and label wires so you know where each goes. Disconnect the fuel and cooling hoses. Disconnect the enhaust flexible hoses. You may remove manifolds if they're in your way. Unscrew the front and rear engine mounts. I like to leave the front mounts attached to the engine and remove the lag bolts holding the mounts to the boat. Attach a lifting chain and hoist and lift away. You'll need an engine alignment tool/shaft when you re-install. It's available in many places and on eBay for about $40. Installation is the reverse. Get the manuals and go to work. Good luck. Hy

Hustler04

Cadet