Question on replacing Gear Housing on '84 OMC

djmeaney

Petty Officer 2nd Class
I need some "Straight Talk" on an opportunity to purchase a boat that needs a new Gear Housing and Bushing (omc part #982226) on the upper gearcase. As best I can tell the boat has a 1984 OMC 3.8L sterndrive. The motor has less than 700 hours on it. The problem is that the Gear Housing is cracked and needs to be replaced (it sounds as though all parts are there). The damage was done when someone was trying to raise the outdrive by towing along the boat ramp. Apparently, there was an electrical problem that prevented the owner from raising it the usual way. Anyway, in the process the Gear Housing was cracked.

I am not a professional, but am mechanically inclined, can follow instructions in a manual and have done some work on small outboards in the past. My questions are how difficult is this job and what would be a fair range to pay for necessary parts?

The outdrive was damaged about a year ago -- is there anything else I should be concerned about? I'm not sure if the fuel tank has had fuel in it all this time etc.

The reason I'm even considering is because of cost. The boat an early 80's Sea Sprite appears to be in good condition from the photos (haven't seen it in person yet) and can be had with trailer for less that $1,200.

Appreciate the thoughts of those more experienced than me.

Dan

Last edited:

Howard Sterndrive

Rear Admiral
Re: Question on replacing Gear Housing on '84 OMC

run away

that isn't a good project. If you ignore that advice and go look at it, go prepared to pressure test the engine block and inspect the exhaust manifolds for cracks. Thos manifolds are no longer available and to convert to OSCO center riser manifolds is about $1350 + shipping.

Shift cable is $600 for those drives.

If a 3.8 /800 series setup is in good, well maintained condition, they can be great - they steer and handle awesome and they are quiet

But as a project, that is a poor choice.