Hard turn with twins

dsiekman

Senior Chief Petty Officer
Okay, so I'm still learning how to handle the twins. If I am trimmed up and cruising - say 3000 rpms and 30 knts - and turn the wheel hard over, the outside drive sounds like its starting to cavitate. Should I trim down if I'm planning this maneuver? I've also tried dropping speed on the inner engine and speeding up the outer, but it doesn't seem to do much. I love the way the boat handles, just looking for some "advanced" driving tips. Thanks

EddiePetty

Lieutenant Junior Grade
Re: Hard turn with twins

We don't own twins but common sense tells me that the 'outside' engine will be pulled out of the water in a high speed turn thus reducing the prop 'bite' and probably ventilating. Either reduce speed or trim the boat for a hard turn to maintain prop depth.

reddogg

Petty Officer 1st Class

X2, either reduce speed, reduce turn radius, or trim down a bit.

Red

EddiePetty

Lieutenant Junior Grade

"..... reduce turn radius...."

Don't ya' really mean INCREASE turn radius???

reddogg

Petty Officer 1st Class

lol, duh, yeah, thats what I meant:)

Red

dsiekman

Thanks, guys. That was my guess, just wanted to see if there was anything I was missing.

smokeonthewater

Fleet Admiral

with twins you have more levers and as we all know when dealing with half pin barrel hinges, with the proper application of leverage the door will pop free..... lol

anyhow I too am still getting used to my twins.... So far everything at speed is the same as any other boat.... I HAVE tried just trimming the outside engine down for a turn and while it seems to work, I prefer to just trim both down.... My boat handles like a go cart at speed. Really surprised me for the size.....