1955 Johnson 5.5 CD-12 project

tbone303

Petty Officer 3rd Class
I have started other threads on this motor and it's gas tank but this one is dedicated to the procedure i will do to rebuild the motor. I am by no means a mechanic this is the first time i am working on a motor of any kind. This is my grandfathers motor and it hasn't started in about 25 years. I have ordered all the parts here's how much they costed. Impellar$18, carb kit with float$25, lower unit seal kit$17, gas tank repair kit$14, 2 ignition coils$38, ignition tune-up kit$19, 2 spark plugs$3.50, air silencer$25, and combined shipping was $40. $200 was the cost of all the parts.
I will be focusing on the -Powerhead
-carburator
-ignition system(Could not cover due to cousin wanting to do it for me)
-water pump(impellar)(Could not cover due to cousin wanting to do it for me)
-resealing lower unit(Could not cover due to cousin wanting to do it for me)
-resealing mile master gas tank

Last edited:

Huron Angler

Admiral
Re: 1955 Johnson 5.5 CD-12 project

I've got the same outboard, and I need to freshen mine up a bit too so I will be following this one.

It's great that the parts are still available and at reasonable prices too.:)

Do you already have the service manual?

tbone303

Petty Officer 3rd Class

I have done the carb and will post the pics and i will do my best to explain what i did.

tbone303

Petty Officer 3rd Class

Here is the carb kit and impellar. The carb kit was OMC #439071 with float (hard to find) bought off ebay
IMG_0084.jpg

First i took off the face plate, knobs, slow and high speed packing nuts, i did not have an air silencer to take off.
IMG_0086.jpg

removed fuel line from carb
IMG_0087.jpg

remove throttle linkage/spring
IMG_0089.jpg

remove throttle linkage here i only removed the one in pic but the top one i did get off but is hard to get to.
IMG_0091.jpg