Soft spot

johnmorgan

Petty Officer 2nd Class
I got my first boat now I am going to fixing it up. There is a soft spot near the motor, looks like there is a crack where water is getting in, hope its not to bad. I will need some help on supplys as I go along, coming soon will be some pictures of the soft spot and when I chew into this thing. I have very little fiber glassing experience but am a fast learner. the boat is a 1976 17.5' sangster made in Vancouver b.c I am also putting a new motor in the boat thats the reason for the revamp. latter i want to paint it and make it look like new.

IMG_0715.JPG

ezmobee

Supreme Mariner
Re: Soft spot

Definitely a cool looking hull worth fixing up. I wouldn't get my hopes up about it's structural condition though. Once you start tearing into these old glassers, you tend to only uncover pain, agony, and despair :p You can fix it though!

johnmorgan

Petty Officer 2nd Class

thanks guys looking forward to see what is in there. I hope its not to bad but you are right ez, I seen alot of that on here fingers and toes crossed.

johnmorgan

Petty Officer 2nd Class

new for morgan 212.jpgnew for morgan 206.jpg Alright I am back to work on the boat, kinda got side tracked for a long time. The soft spot I need to fix is to the right of the motor. I did get lucky on this boat, the floor has been redone by the P O he said, in 93 he redid the whole thing. the spot that is soft is a rotten 2x4 that extends under the floor, in the pictures you can see the 2x4 that the motor is sitting on. So I am going to start by taking the old motor out and fixing the 2x4 then putting the 95 hp diesel that I am making payments on. so tomorow I am going to starts taking the motor out.
stuff to do.
-take old motor out
-cut up the floor
-fix the rotted wood
-fiber glass the hole
-sand it
-paint it
-paint the rest of the boat
-new gas tanks is in order
thats it for now not going to get ahead of myself

johnmorgan

Petty Officer 2nd Class