Evinrude 4HP LIGHTWIN '74 - overheating?

fastcat14

Cadet
hi everyone, this is my first post but I have been reading threads on this site for a while. Its been a great resource, so I finally signed up. Im new to boating but not to motors. I recently picked up a '74 Evinrude 4hp LIGHTWIN Model: 4406R

motor-2.jpg

After I got the motor I cleaned the carb, changed the gear oil, and ran it in a bucket. It seemed to start and run just fine. I could only run it up to 1/3 throttle without throwing all the water out, so I took it out into Tampa Bay this past weekend on a 10' Achilles inflatable boat. It ran great once I got the carb mixtures set and I put an hour or so on it "zooming" around in the flats. Lots of slow speed running, some mid, and some runs at full throttle.

Everything sounds fine, and it performed great, except I think the motor might be running hot.

During the run I put my hand on the power head a few times (on the back of the motor, underneath) and had to take it off after just a few seconds. I didn't take the cover off while out on the water, and didnt touch the cylinder head itself. This motor has 8 small holes on the back of the shaft which send out a drizzle of cooling water as it runs. When the motor is good and hot the water coming out feels quite hot but not scalding. The head seems a bit discolored, maybe an indication of overheating? It was like this when I got the motor.

coveroff.jpg

Today, I checked a few things:

Spark plugs - They look tan/brown, normal. They are the right plugs for the motor (Champion J6C) and gapped right at .030"

Compression - I put a gauge on each cylinder pulled the starter cord 8 times. The top cylinder read 100 psi, and the bottom was 95. These seem like low numbers.

Heat check - I ran the motor in the bucket at 1/4 throttle for 4-5 minutes, then took some temp readings with an infrared gauge while running:

Cylinder head right next to the plug: 195-200F
Cylinder mid-way down: 145-150F