88' sea ray sorrento HELP bad drive\water pump shaft ?

Beauchamp

Recruit
im new to boating and kinda young so i need some help i bought this boat last fall 21' sea ray sorrento 350 mercruiser and i think a alpha one outdrive (its painted white so not sure any way i can tell for sure?) and have had it out 5 or so times now but the last trip ended bad. i was pulling my mom and girlfriend on a tube and the boat seemed to loose movement almost like it hit neutral.. earlier in the day it had seemed to slip but quickly got out of throttle and it seemed ok. ive hit a few shallow spots prior to this.. got it home and now hooked to garden hose it over heats and when placed into fwd or rev it instantly dies.... im thinking i got a bad impeller\drive shaft but would that cause my motor to die when placed in gear? when put in fwd or rev prop will only spin one way locks in other direction... dont see rubber dust on motor and have never smelt burnt rubber coming from motor... ive done alot of research and i keep coming back to the shaft been stripped.. looking for guidance befor i tear the lower unit apart and or shell out 500-1500$ on a new outdrive thanks in advance!!

Bt Doctur

Supreme Mariner
Re: 88' sea ray sorrento HELP bad drive\water pump shaft ?

shift it so the prop is locked in one direction, stand on the blade turning it, see if the shaft inside the boat turns.
If the shaft does not turn that means drive is damaged. Have you checked the oil level in the drive?

Beauchamp

Recruit