1970 Super Scamper 11' sailboat - worth repairing?

trexbob

Cadet
Hi, I'm a relatively newb to boating and sailing, but I acquired a 1970-ish Super Scamper by Formex corp, it is a foam cored, plastic covered thing. We bought it locally on craigslist and didn't pay much so no flames please. After thinking about trying to fix things first, then deciding just to see how it works, we put it in the water on Sunday and had a nice few hours sailing around on a pretty lazy, low wind day. Then at one point I caught a good breeze I wasn't prepared for and it went over. After getting it right side up again, I noticed a small hole in the sail, and started going back towards the shore. By the time I was within a few hundred feet of shore, it ended up tearing the length of the sail, and I was forced to paddle it back using the daggerboard as a paddle. So it looks like a new sail is in order at the very least, but I wanted to put it to the experts here as to how much I should or shouldn't put into it. There does appear to be at least one wooden plank along the top that is more than likely rotted away, and the plastic has some cracks in it in a few places. I would like to repair the rotten wood at the very least, because it helps supports the mast.

This is what it looks like:
CIMG2571.jpg

CIMG2558.jpg

This is a picture around where the mast enters, with the wooden over-piece removed (not sure what that is called):
CIMG2554.jpg

Here is a pic of the rear of the boat, showing the plastic coming off:
CIMG2559.jpg

Also, if I do decide to keep it, I don't know a whole lot about sails... I imagine the 1970 sail should be replaced and not repaired, as it was not in the best shape before it tore in half. I know they make sails for Sunfish that might work, but they might not. If I have a custom sail made, what is the difference between materials, and what's the best option for someone on a budget?

trexbob

Cadet
Re: 1970 Super Scamper 11' sailboat - worth repairing?