Noob Question!!

angel_guardian

Seaman Apprentice
I am very new to the whole boating world. I've got a Glastron ssv-178 that i restored... i have a Mercury Black Max 150 (roughly 1982-84) This motor will not start! I'm troubleshooting my way through this and so far I am getting fuel to carbs, spark to plugs, etc. A friend suggested a few other issues I've worked out. Here is my question, does this motor HAVE to be submerged in water to start? Is there some sort of kill switch? It seems to be firing all over just nothing beyond this. Batteries, connections, everything seems to be clean and in working order. Any help or directions towards wiring diagrams etc would be helpful. I am on a working man's budget with no credit card to buy books online etc. Thanks in advance!

CharlieB

Vice Admiral
Re: Noob Question!!

Try here to see if your manual is available for download.

***Edited to add this forgotten link****
http://forums.iboats.com/showthread.php?t=309079&p=2072211#post2072211

Start with basic troubleshooting, the motor only needs a few things to run.

Compression, all cyls should be within 10% of each other. The exact number depends on the quality of the gauge used, a quality unit may read 120 psi while a cheaper gauge may only read 80 psi.

A hot blue spark of at least 7/16 inch and at the right time. Close to TDC should start, to advanced or too retarded makes it difficult to start.

Fuel, are the spark plugs getting wet? When was the last time the motor ran? Is it time to clean and rebuild the carbs with new gaskets? Hoses? Rebuild fuel pump? Primer Bulb?

Last edited:

Bass Buster One

Seaman Apprentice