Mercruiser I/O wont trim up, trailer works, help?

newc048

Seaman Apprentice
Just purchased this boat a few days ago and just like the title says, the trim up button on the throttle lever does not work but the trailer does. Now i know they both control the same movement, but trailer allows the outdrive to go higher than the trim up button which can be bad on u-joints if it gets up too high.

What would be the cause of this and is it an easy fix? I am a pretty handy guy and would like to avoid paying a shop to do this as i have quite a bit of automotive mechanical background but this is my first time dabbling into boat mechanics.

Its a 1989 Rinker 186 with a 4.3 Mercruiser I/O

Any help is appreciated!

Thanks!

bds85466

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: Mercruiser I/O wont trim up, trailer works, help?

that's a pretty classic symptom.

there's plenty of posts on here with troubleshooting techniques and manuals for this. just search for em.

most likely a trim position or limit switch that has gone bad or wire broken/corroded through.

does your trim position gauge read out? you can still use your trailer button to achieve your trim needs, but you're right, you need to watch how high you run your trim when the boat is running, especially at non idle rpms.

MSRTBUDWISER

Cadet

We have the same problem on our Trophy w/ A1 outdrive, we just haven't fixed it yet because we just sue the trailer button to go up. We run it all the way down, so we don't worry about u-joints. It's either the switch on the shifter, or the terminal for the up on your pump solenoid is corroded and not making good contact... Id look there first. ~Happy Boating!~

paultjohnson

Lieutenant Commander