Newly acquired boat

dtmike

Recruit
HI. I just recently purchased a Duratech boat from craigslist. It was listed as a 1957, 15 ft. I am new to boats and boating so I thought this would be a good boat for me to start with and fix up. This model appears to be sold as part of a Montgomery Ward Sea King package. The trailer and motor both have sea king branding. The motor was made by Gale (25 HP) and according to the serial and model number I gathered it was from 1960. This part slightly confuses me because the dates are different so I am not exactly sure what model I have. The serial number for the boat is 17928. The plate does not have a model number and does not appear to be scratched off or tampered with, just left blank. My guess is that it has something to do with Wards branding of Sea King. I don?t know?

If someone could please help me identify which model this is or any other info it would be much appreciated. I would like to find out load capacity, weight of the boat and HP ratings or transom load? maybe an estimate on total towing weight? Perhaps a recommendation for the type of motor I should get for a replacement if necessary. Although the existing one runs, it will likely need a replacement or some work. I am not yet qualified to fix the motor myself, but am learning. I don?t know what type of motors will work with my steering mechanism? It is a cable pulley system. I would plan on getting one with electric start. Also, Any info I could get on trying to maintain the original parts, restore them or find authentic looking replacements would also be great. See pictures below. Thanks

Attachments

• 100_3156.jpg
    100_3156.jpg
    148.1 KB · Views: 0
  • 100_3163.jpg
    100_3163.jpg
    156.6 KB · Views: 0
  • 100_3150.jpg
    100_3150.jpg
    151.5 KB · Views: 0
  • 100_3165.jpg
    100_3165.jpg
    146.6 KB · Views: 0
  • 100_3153.jpg
    100_3153.jpg
    155.2 KB · Views: 0

jamesgduratech

Petty Officer 3rd Class
Re: Newly acquired boat