Which GM block is 1988 5.7 Cobra (Four Winns 200)

Stan's Customs

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Afternoon Gents and others...<br /><br />Can anyone tell me if the engine in a 1988 Four Winns 200 5.7 Cobra has a one piece rear main seal or not. Also if the cam is a roller or flat tappet.<br /><br />I believe this boat, even though it last came from north Texas has seen a lot of salt, plus, though it runs good, it has "way" too much blow by for me...So I'm considering an engine change. I can get GM crate engines in the money and don't want to get into any flywheel problems.......Or any other problems if anyone has any tips. (Assuming that using the marine carb, alternator and starter..is a given)<br /><br />I believe that the truck engines have a similar cam if my information is close to right.<br /><br /> Also what should be done in regard to the outdrive as far as checking for salt damage...I have zero experience with anything but fresh water boats.<br /><br /><br />Thanks..Stan

Bondo

Staff member
Re: Which GM block is 1988 5.7 Cobra (Four Winns 200)

Hey Stan,<br />I can't help you with the OMC,+ Saltwater part of the equation..........<br />But,<br />You're right about the GM crate engines......<br />A Long Block for a 1988 Truck is about the Best drop-in motor you'll find.......<br />Pop in a set of Brass Core Plugs,+ All the accessories from your OMC....<br /><br />You'll be Boating in Style in No Time........ :D

Bondo

Staff member

Evidently they think that in '88 it could have been either. The flywheel bolt pattern is different.