info on 165 hp mercruiser engine and leg

Ironside

Petty Officer 3rd Class
Hi I am a new boat owner "inherited my grandfathers boat" and am looking for advice on upkeep and matenance ,tune up info or any advice on this engine leg ext<br />Thanks

Don S

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
Re: info on 165 hp mercruiser engine and leg

Before you do anything to the boat, get a Mercruiser service manual for your engine and outdrive. It will save you a lot of trouble in the long run.<br /><br /> Mercruiser Website

Ironside

Petty Officer 3rd Class

Thanks Don I'll get one especialy on the leg .The motor is easy ,I am an automotive mechanic but the transmission and leg will be the challange

Bondo

Staff member

am looking for advice on upkeep and matenance ,tune up info or any advice on this engine leg ext
Well,<br />With All the information that you've shared with us, I'll venture a Guess............<br /><br />You've got a Mod.1 outdrive behind a 250cid Chevy I-6 motor.....<br />Maybe up to a late 70s driveline......<br />Or,<br />Possibly, If it's a I-4 motor, it Could be 1 of the Dreaded Merc. 470s..... with Either a Mod.1, or an early Alpha 1 drive........<br />I Think that Merc. gave that motor a 165hp badge in 1 year or another.......<br /><br />You should get Much More Specific with your Questions....... Or, just surf the boards,+ Learn from previous posts..... <br />There's a Search Button at the top of Every page.... Use It....<br />DonS has posted links on Many different threads here at iboats..... Click on Every 1 of them,+ Learn what Parts,+ other Things are Called......<br />That way we can all speak the same Language..........<br /><br />Personally, I'm here to Help you, Any way I can.....<br />But, I'm a 1 fingered, Hunt,+ Peck Mechanic............................... :D <br /><br />Good Luck,+ I'll see ya around................

rodbolt

Supreme Mariner