Bass fishing in Clear Lake...what size line?

ngt

Master Chief Petty Officer
I have 10lb, 8lb, 6lb, and 4lb. Heading to the pro shop to pick up some gear. What size line should I string up my stuff with?

2 Eagles

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: Bass fishing in Clear Lake...what size line?

It depends on the type of bass fishing your doing. Need more info.
Rod & Reel type?
Muddy or rock bottom?
Jig or crank bait?
Flipping or Casting?

ngt

All my rod and reel types are generic regular spinning reels. Not sure what the bottom looks like. Guy said we'll be fishing in channels and along some dam. I'd like to cast some lures (rooster tail? popper?, double spinner?), rubber worm/lizzard, night crawlers with a bobber, drop shot with little worm, etc.) Sorry if it's not enough info, but I'm really new to bass fishing. I'm taking my tackle box into the pro shop with me so the guy can tell me what lures to use up there. 2 of the guys that are going are experienced in that area and they said rooster tails, but they're not my friends so I can't really call them up and ask on other stuff. ALso, I've never fished with a rooster tail.

My usual fishing is slapping a slider rig on 50 lb braided, tossing it out with some anchovies or grass shrimp, popping on a bell, and opening a beer. Same type of fishing for catfish, perch, shark, sturgeon, ray, halibut, etc...but with different rigs/lines/setups. Cast, sit, wait. lol. easy fishing. Not much skill needed.

I've been bass fishing before and caught a handful in the last couple of years (yeah, that's it). A couple on wacky worm, 1 with a nightcrawler and bobber, and the other few with a little white fish lure just casting and swimming it back. That's about it for me and large mouth.

Hope that narrows it down a bit.

scipper77

Commander

15-20# braid and if you can tie on a fluorocarbon leader if you think you need it. What I just gave you should catch you fish in most any situation.

Fed up

Petty Officer 2nd Class