New to boats, hair turning grey...

soloeo

Cadet
:confused:Hey All, New guy here Just picked up a 1977 Glastron v174 with a AQ130D and a 280 drive and need some advice. I am new to boats but not to engines, this is causing me some issues because I can't drop it in the lake to test it out every day. First I will tell you the work I have done so far. Needless to say I picked up this boat in less than perfect condition to say the least. When I got it there were a few issues that I needed to address right away, but I saw it run so knew that I could tackle them. First, there was a damn cheese cloth rag in place of the gas cap, so I had a tank full of crap, I completely drained the tank, and cleaned out the tank and all lines. I also rebuilt the fuel pump and installed a backup electric inline, and replaced the water seperator presently fuel flow is awesome, the bowls fill quickly. I also broke the solex 44PA carbs down to parade rest and did a complete cleaning, the gaskets were in good shape so I was able to reuse them. They both appear to function correctly from my experience with carbs. I also replaced the plugs, and checked the wires. The cap and rotor look less than desireable, a couple cracks in the cap but not too bad. The bosch distributor looks alot like a .009 used in old Porsches so i am very fimiliar with them, cleaned the points and checked the weights, seems to work fine. I have checked to make sure I have the plugs in the 1342 order correctly and they are. So to recap, I have gone through the fuel system and the ignition system, they both seem very basic to me, I am probably way off base by saying there isn't too much to miss on them. Now to the problem.