Best Catfish Bait

ngt

Master Chief Petty Officer
So, I'm going camping next Wednesday and Thursday out at Clear Lake in Nor Cal. Most of the night is going to be spent going for catfish. I have 3 different baits, but I was wondering what you guys thought, and if there was anything else I could use to catch something.

I have:

1: Dough Bait...regular red label walmart dough bait. I caught a nice little 26 inch, 8 pound guy a few years ago on this stuff up there.

2: Prawns...my friend who first got me into fishing said prawns are good and someone gave me a huge frozen bag of them last time I went fishing, so they're just in the freezer waiting.

3: This old guy and a fishing shop once told me to take chicken gizzards, hearts, and livers and put them in a jar with cheap whiskey. Then stick out in the sun for 4-5 days and the whiskey toughens in all up so it stays on your hook while the smell brings them in. I've never tried it before, but I have two jars full of this stuff out in the sun in the back yard. We shall see.

4: another guy said to buy clams when I'm up there and they work well.

Anything else? Any special bait I can get? I've been having a tough summer fishing so far (spent 9 hours fishing from 6pm to 3am without a bite the other day) and I'd love to catch something nice out there.

any help would be appreciated!

thank you!

JB

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
Re: Best Catfish Bait

I like #1 and #2. #3 is mostly mythology, except that most catfish hunt by smell. The truth is they like stuff that smells good just as much as stuff designed to run all other fishermen off the lake.

I tend to prefer fresh meat of some kind, be it shellfish, fish, or mammal. I have caught cats on fresh steak trimmings, but I think my favorite is shrimp or night crawlers.

reddogg

Petty Officer 1st Class