Rough glass boat, need direction. where to start? and what materials to use?

slapsley

Recruit
My 15' Glasscraft Citation is rough to say the least. it's been in the family since new (1958) and would like to get everything up to snuff. I just don't know where to start. Should i separate the cap and what does this involve? Pitfalls to watch for and materials and techniques to get started would be appreciated. I'm brand new to marine life, so any info would be helpful. I'm posting pics of the most troubled areas (that I can see) Thank you in advance.

Attachments

• front seat close.jpg
    front seat close.jpg
    147.6 KB · Views: 0
  • boat hull underneath3.jpg
    boat hull underneath3.jpg
    148 KB · Views: 0
  • boat transom close.jpg
    boat transom close.jpg
    141.7 KB · Views: 0
  • boat hull underneath2.jpg
    boat hull underneath2.jpg
    147.9 KB · Views: 0
  • under trim closeup.jpg
    under trim closeup.jpg
    137.8 KB · Views: 0

Woodonglass

Supreme Mariner
Re: Rough glass boat, need direction. where to start? and what materials to use?

Welcome to iBoats!

An overall picture of the boat would be a big help. First off I totally understand Sentimental value, but be AWARE, there is a cost to these Old Beauties, even trying to do it "On the Cheap" can add up pretty fast. From the looks of the pics you have posted you will be doing a total restoration of the boats substructure. That is the Hull Stringers, Transom and Deck/Sole. You also have a lot of Fiberglass repair to do if you want to make her Really look new. All of this can be done by a total amateur with the help of all the guys here on the fourm, but it does take time, effort and money. If you are willing to invest all of these then you can and will be successful.

Here's what I recommend to get started....

Strip everything out of her, remove the motor, remove the rubrail, remove the topcap,and let the destruction begin.