Advice for a practical inflatable.

fender230

Cadet
New to the board, looking for some help if possible.

I am looking to get my first boat and spacial limitations are dictating that I will be getting an inflatable. Essentially I am looking for an SIB that I can deflate and put in the trunk of my '98 RAV4 and use in Boston Harbor for fishing and island hopping on reasonably nice days. Typically I would have myself and another person on-board for fishing, but at some point we will need to take the girls out to an island for camping or swimming. I was looking at some of the larger boats from Saturn and Coastal inflatables, around 15' or so. Most people say that they should be kept on a trailer, why? Is it that it just takes a really long time to inflate or are these large boats unwieldy when flat? Are they prone to tearing when deflated because they are heavy and have a large surface area?

Any tips or advice you can give me would be amazing. I am very new at this, but very excited to get out on the water.

Hammer66

Cadet
Re: Advice for a practical inflatable.

Hi Fender!