Correct diagnosis? Lack of fuel...

Tyler G

Recruit
Hey everyone, newbie here. I started following this forum a few weeks ago after inheriting a project..... My father in law was given a 1999 sea ray with a mercruiser 3.0 I/O. Boat had been sitting for about 6 months. I picked it up for him and told him I would make sure it was running and do any additional maintenance (worked on cars a lot, not on boats, bigger difference than I thought). Anyway, down to the issue, the ignition works fine, starter turns the engine over but it will not start. No starting then dying, nothing. Tried opening the throttle out of gear etc. So I started poking around and found that there wasn't the slightest hint of gas smell in the carb. In fact taking the fuel line off found it to be completely dry. So I checked out the fuel pump on the side of the engine ( mechanical pump! New one on me ). The bowl had gas. I pulled the fuel line coming from the tank into the pump and hooked my brake bleeder up to it to put negative pressure on the line. Gas flowed easily so I guess the antisiphone valve is fine. The only thing I can suppose is the pump is bad. If gas is flowing freely to the pump and past the pump is not getting fuel am I correct to suppose the fuel pump? The pump seems easy enough to replace. With my lack of marine engine experience I just wanted to air this question out to see if I was thinking clearly. I would like to get this problem wrapped up for my father in-law. He was kind enough say we could use the boat when we wanted so putting a few hours and bucks into this boat is the least I can do.

dubs283

Vice Admiral
Re: Correct diagnosis? Lack of fuel...

cheap and easy way to test fuel pump output is to disconnect the fuel line at the carb and crank the engine, grounding the coil wire of course - place the fuel line end in a container to collect fuel if it is pumping (may want to have a helper crank the engine for you)