new owner of 2000 johnson 70 2 stroke.need some help!

papsskiff

Cadet
Hello all, I recently inherited a 2000 19ft carolina skiff with a 2000 70 johnson 3cyl. Outboard.I know nothing about 2 stroke motors at all so I have a few questions. I put some mickey mouse ears on it and fired it up.it starts with no problem, but smokes worse than I've ever seen any 2 stroke smoke before.a blueish smoke. My questions are, what kind of compression should the cylinders have, what could be causing the smoke, and what kind of oil should I use in it? The boat has a fuel tank and a separate oil tank.

It also breaks up under throttle.not knowing exactly the last time it was run....I sort of attribute that to a combination of old fuel,plugs, and oil..but I'm not 100percent sure.

Oh....and I was told by a neighbor that I should change out the impeller. Any help on where/how to get to it and replace it......and where I can order an impeller from?

Sorry if its a lot of questions, I'm very new to the boating world....as this is my first boat. Thanks in advance for any replies

knipper

Recruit
Re: new owner of 2000 johnson 70 2 stroke.need some help!