Solar 'Charger/Maintainer'

mxzeatr

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Hey guys,

Quick, well hopefully quick, question here.

I'm a weekend boater, well maybe even a bi-weekend boater (its been 3 weeks right now though) and this is my first year leaving my boat down at my lake lot on its shore station. We do not have power down there at all, so I'm a little concerned about going out all day and boating, listening to the radio etc. and not being able to charge the battery.

Now, I've done some searching, and I know that they won't fully charge a dead trolling battery, but if I run the boat for 2hrs and listen to the radio (no amps/etc, just a CD Player with 4-6.5" speakers) would a solar charger benefit me when the boat is sitting in the lift with 1-2 weeks time before I'd use it again? Or would it be best to just yank the battery, take it up to the house and trickle charge it then re-install next time I'm up there? Just a PITA to remove it, carry it 450', charge, re-carry, re-install, etc...

Thanks for the input.

mxzeatr

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: Solar 'Charger/Maintainer'

Hey guys,

Quick, well hopefully quick, question here.

I'm a weekend boater, well maybe even a bi-weekend boater (its been 3 weeks right now though) and this is my first year leaving my boat down at my lake lot on its shore station. We do not have power down there at all, so I'm a little concerned about going out all day and boating, listening to the radio etc. and not being able to charge the battery.