NS40 problem trimming in

puffulufogous

Recruit
I have a 1989 Nissan 40D outboard that I purchased used just recently. When I try to trim in it will not work. Trimming out works fine. When I try to trim in I hear a single click. Going on advice of a friend I replaced the relay which did not change anything. There are no obvious frays in the wire. Any help is greatly appreciated.

TOHATSU GURU

Admiral
Re: NS40 problem trimming in

Jump across the relay to bypass it. If the trim works it is a bad relay. What part number did you use for the replacement relay?

puffulufogous

Recruit

I do not know how to bypass it. Sorry, I am new to engine repair/maintenance but am learning as I go. I replaced it with a part from my dealership that looks exactly like the old one. I installed it just how the old one was installed. Up until a few days ago, the trim worked fine in both directions, so I doubt it is the wiring. Could it be possible that one of my wires from the relay to the trim motor is bad? I appreciate your response. If its still necessary I can find the exact part number they gave me. I just don't have it right in front of me.

pvanv

Admiral

The relay allows a low-current (small wire) switch to control a high-current (fat wire) device (such as the pump). If you have a single-solenoid system, you should find a fat power wire going to the relay, and two fat wires to the pump. One is for UP and the other is for DOWN. If you jumper from the power wire to UP, the motor should tilt... likewise, if you jumper to the DOWN wire, the motor should lower. Keep in mind that the 40D2 has two relays. If that is your setup, you could have changed the good relay with a new one, but left the bad one untouched. Assuming your relay is good, and wired correctly, you could have a poor connection at the pump motor, or a poor crimp connection. The wiring diagram is in your Factory service manual, available from any dealer, including me.

TOHATSU GURU

Admiral